Current Members

Faculty

Dr. Raza Abidi (Professor)Raza Abidi
ssrabidi@dal.ca
Research interests: Knowledge Management; Intelligent Information and Web-Service Personalization; Health Informatics.
Dr. Samina Abidi (Assistant Professor)
samina.abidi@dal.caSamina Abidi
Research interests: Clinical Decision Support; Health Knowledge Modeling and Computerization; Patient Centered Care; Comorbid Care Planning; Knowledge Translation; Health Information Systems Design and Health Systems Evaluation.
Samuel StewartSamuel Stewart
sam.stewart@dal.ca
Research interests: Natural Language Processing; Semantic Mapping; Semantic Knowledge Acquisition; Semantic Linking; Electronic Health Record Deployment; Social Network Analysis; Tag Cloud Similarity; Big Data Analysis; Real Time Dashboards; Statistical Analysis

 

Post Doctoral Fellows

Patrice C RoyPatrice C. Roy
patrice.roy@dal.ca
Research interests: Ambient intelligence; Smart homes; Health Informatics; Ubiquitous computing; Multi-agent systems; Context awareness; Activity/plan recognition; Machine learning; Knowledge representation; Description logic; Uncertainty theories; Cognitive assistance; Ontology; Semantic Web; Computer vision; Earth sciences.
William Van WoenselWilliam Van Woensel
william.van.woensel@dal.ca
Research interests: Knowledge Representation and Reasoning (KRR); Machine Learning; Ontology; Semantic Web; Context-Awareness; Activity Recognition; Mobile Computing; Health Informatics.

 

PhD Scholars

Ghdeer Abdulhakeem TashkandiGhdeer Tashkandi
ghdeer.tashkandi@gmail.com

Research interests: User interface design for health care; HCI; User-centered; Patient Education; DSS; UI; GUI; and Guidelines.
Syed Asil Ali NaqviSyed Naqvi
A.Naqvi@Dal.Ca
Tarek Dandashy
Tarek.Dandashy@dal.ca
Research interests: Activity Recognition, Assisted Living, Health Informatics and Artificial intelligence
Ali Daowddaowd
Ali.Daowd@Dal.Ca

Research interests: eHealth; public health informatics; patient self management; patient-oriented care; health data visualization; and behaviour change
Jaber Radrad
Jaber.Rad@Dal.Ca
Research interests: Bioinformatics and computational biology; Cancer Modelling and Simulation; Information Visualization (Specially applications in biological data visualization); Multi-Agent Systems – Agent-Oriented Programming
Alexander Safatlisafatli
safatli@cs.dal.ca
Research interests: Semantic Web, Artificial Intelligence, data structures, system architecture, language development, and computationally difficult problems

 

Master’s Scholars

Aditi NairAditi Nair
Aditi.Nair@dal.ca
Research interests: Behaviour Modelling, Behavioural Theory, Mental Health, Semantic Web, Ontology, Clinical Decision Support Systems.
Anders LenskjoldAnders Lenskjold
Anders.Lenskjold@dal.ca
Research interests: Medical Informatics, Data Mining, Knowledge Translation, Clinical Decision Support Tools.
Kayalvizhi ThanigainathanKayalvizhi Thanigainathan
Kayalvizhi.Thanigainathan@dal.ca
Research interests: Data mining, Data Modelling, Data Visualization, Machine learning, Health Informatics.
Michael BarrettMichael Barrett
Michael.Barrett@dal.ca
Research interests: Literature-based discovery, patient empowerment and digital health interventions.
Noveenaa PiousNoveenaa Pious
Noveenaa.Pious@dal.ca
Research interests: Bioinformatics and Computational biology, Microarray data analysis, Data mining and Machine learning.